nixfredFLOXFIELD GUIDE · BY NIX UNOFFICIAL
EXECUTE / ECONOMICS

Seat cost versus drift cost (derived, your assumptions)

The only published figure here is the Team price of $20 per seat per month (flox.dev/pricing, checked 2026-11-04). Every other input is your estimate: this page does not claim any number of hours saved. Start with your own data (support tickets, onboarding time, CI failures caused by environment differences) and see where the break-even sits. Enterprise is custom-priced, so it is not modelled.

Starting points (illustrative, not claims):

Method, labeled: seat cost = engineers x $20 x 12 (derived from the published price). Recovered value = engineers x hours lost x share removed x hourly cost x 12, plus new hires x hours saved at onboarding x hourly cost. Break-even hours per engineer per month = $20 / hourly cost (derived). All hours and rates are your inputs; none comes from Flox. The Personal tier is free with 3 private environments and 5 private packages, so a very small team may not need a paid seat (flox.dev/pricing).

Economics

Flox has three published plans: a free Personal plan, a Team plan at $20 per seat per month, and Enterprise with custom pricing. Flox’s own materials describe the cost of environment drift in lost hours but publish no percentage, so any drift-cost number in a deal is the customer’s own estimate. This page lists every published price and limit, derives seat costs only from the published price, and explains how to use the seat-cost versus drift-cost calculator without inventing defaults.

This page is drawn from https://flox.dev/pricing/, https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/organizations, https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/floxhub, https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/, https://flox.dev/case-studies/how-fellow-ai-ships-faster-with-flox/, https://flox.dev/case-studies/how-resolve-ai-eliminated-works-on-my-machine/, https://flox.dev/blog/works-on-my-machine-a-platform-problem/, https://flox.dev/control-your-sdlc/, https://flox.dev/kubernetes/, https://flox.dev/blog/deploying-hardened-flox-nvidia-cuda-stacks-in-minutes-not-hours/ and https://flox.dev/cuda/, all checked 2026-11-04. Lines marked derived are arithmetic on those numbers, not quotes from Flox. Prices are USD as shown on the pricing page.

What Flox charges

The pricing page lists three plans (https://flox.dev/pricing/). The first is labeled Personal in the page text and priced “Free”; this guide calls it the Free plan (https://flox.dev/pricing/).

PlanPriceIncludes (as listed)Source
Personal (free)FreeFlox CLI, Flox Catalog access, unlimited public FloxHub envs, 3 private FloxHub envs, 5 private packages, community support via Slack or Discoursehttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Team$20/seat/monthEverything from Personal, plus access to your team catalog, unlimited publishing of packages, unlimited team FloxHub envs, platform support, access to paid consulting with Flox packaging expertshttps://flox.dev/pricing/
EnterpriseCustom pricingEverything from Team, plus custom deployment options, custom base catalog, software policy engine, comprehensive packaging support, access to paid consulting with Nix packaging expertshttps://flox.dev/pricing/

Three things to say out loud:

  • The Free plan is a real product, not a trial. The pricing page describes it as for “developers who want to build and share portable, reproducible dev environments using a large catalog of open source software” (https://flox.dev/pricing/).
  • The limits that bite first are the private ones: 3 private FloxHub envs and 5 private packages on the Free plan, versus unlimited team FloxHub envs and unlimited publishing of packages on Team (https://flox.dev/pricing/). Public FloxHub envs are unlimited on the Free plan (https://flox.dev/pricing/).
  • Organizations are a Team feature. The docs mark organizations as a “Flox for Teams” paid feature and describe an organization as providing a private catalog, scoped access control and a foundation for collaboration (https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/organizations). Automated environment upgrades on FloxHub are also marked as included with Flox for Teams (https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/floxhub).

What the pricing page does not say: whether there is annual billing or a discount, a minimum seat count for Team, what “platform support” means in response-time terms, or the price of the consulting. Mark each [verify] and ask Flox rather than guessing (https://flox.dev/pricing/).

The login change is not a price change

Since 2026-10-20, installing, upgrading or resolving packages from the Flox Catalog requires a free FloxHub account (https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/). Flox states: “This isn’t a paywall.” and says FloxHub accounts are free and the free tier keeps all its existing capabilities (https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/). The stated reason is that agents generate more Catalog traffic and authentication helps curb abusive automation (https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/).

Worked examples: seat cost (derived)

Inputs: Team plan $20/seat/month (https://flox.dev/pricing/). Every figure below is derived by multiplying that one published price by a seat count and by 12 months. Whether Team can be bought monthly without a minimum is [verify] (https://flox.dev/pricing/).

SeatsPer month (derived)Per 12 months (derived)
10$200$2,400
50$1,000$12,000
200$4,000$48,000

Formula: seats x $20 = monthly cost, using the price at https://flox.dev/pricing/. At 200 seats, a customer is more likely to be talking about Enterprise features (custom base catalog, software policy engine), and Enterprise pricing is “Custom pricing” with no published number (https://flox.dev/pricing/). Do not extrapolate the $20 figure into an Enterprise quote.

Who needs a seat is a scoping question. The pricing page describes Team as for teams who need one way to build, publish and manage software “across local dev, CI, and production” (https://flox.dev/pricing/). Whether a CI runner or a service account consumes a seat is not stated on the pricing page [verify] (https://flox.dev/pricing/). CI does not need a login if the lockfile is committed, because an environment with a valid lockfile activates without one (https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/).

What the sources say about time lost to drift

Flox’s own claims are qualitative. None of the pages below publishes a percentage or a dollar figure for time saved, and this guide does not add one.

Say: “Flox’s published proof is two customer stories and a set of scenarios, all qualitative. The number that matters is yours: how many hours a month your team loses to setup and mismatched environments.” Ask for that number; do not supply one.

Image storage and pull costs (imageless Kubernetes)

Flox’s Kubernetes page says imageless Kubernetes lets pods “Pull declarative Flox environments at runtime” so each node downloads only the required hash-pinned packages, and describes this as skipping registry round trips (https://flox.dev/kubernetes/). It shows three headline figures: 800 to 0 MB under “Base image elimination”, 50% under “Faster provisioning”, and 5 to 2 under “Pipeline stages eliminated” (https://flox.dev/kubernetes/). The page gives no test setup behind them, so treat them as vendor claims [verify] (https://flox.dev/kubernetes/).

What the docs add:

No Flox source gives a dollar figure for registry storage or pull traffic, because those are the customer’s registry vendor’s prices. For the calculator, the reader enters their own registry bill; Flox’s sources only say what is no longer pushed or pulled. Whether imageless Kubernetes is covered by the Free or Team plan, or needs Enterprise, is not stated on the pricing page [verify] (https://flox.dev/pricing/).

GPU and CUDA setup time (as sourced)

These timings are build-time measurements on one named machine, not a saving per developer. They matter for ML teams that rebuild CUDA stacks often; they do not translate to the seat calculator unless the customer actually builds from source today.

How to use the seat-cost versus drift-cost calculator

The calculator compares one published number with numbers only the customer can supply. Every input except the seat price is the reader’s own assumption, and no default is a fact.

InputWhere it comes fromSource for the published ones
Seats (N)The customer’s headcount that would use Floxthe customer
Seat price$20 per seat per month (Team)https://flox.dev/pricing/
Hours lost per engineer per month to drift, setup and code-or-machine triageThe customer’s estimate; Flox publishes no figurethe customer
Loaded cost per engineer hourThe customer’s finance numberthe customer
Share of that time Flox would removeThe customer’s judgment; the case studies say “rarely” and “essentially eliminate drift in local development” but give no percentage (https://flox.dev/case-studies/how-fellow-ai-ships-faster-with-flox/)the customer
Registry and CI minutes avoided (optional)The customer’s own registry and CI invoicesthe customer

Derived formulas, using the published seat price from https://flox.dev/pricing/:

  • Seat cost per month = N x 20.
  • Drift cost per month = N x hours lost per engineer x loaded hourly cost.
  • Avoided cost per month = drift cost x share removed.
  • Break-even hours per engineer per month = 20 / (loaded hourly cost x share removed). Example of the arithmetic only: if a customer enters a loaded hourly cost of 100 and a share of 0.5, break-even is 20 / 50 = 0.4 hours per engineer per month. Those two inputs are placeholders to show the division, not data.

Rules for using it in a conversation:

  • Ask the customer to fill the blanks in front of you. Never pre-fill hours lost from a case study; the case studies publish none (https://flox.dev/case-studies/how-resolve-ai-eliminated-works-on-my-machine/).
  • Show the break-even line first. It answers how little Flox would have to save to cover its own cost, with only one published input.
  • Keep onboarding separate from steady-state drift, since Flox’s own page separates them: onboarding is the “episodic cousin” of the recurring drift tax (https://flox.dev/control-your-sdlc/).
  • Do not count consulting or Enterprise features unless the customer is buying them; their prices are not published (https://flox.dev/pricing/).

Every price and limit figure, with its URL

FigureValueURL
Personal plan priceFreehttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Personal: public FloxHub envsUnlimitedhttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Personal: private FloxHub envs3https://flox.dev/pricing/
Personal: private packages5https://flox.dev/pricing/
Personal: supportCommunity, Slack or Discoursehttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Team price$20/seat/monthhttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Team: team FloxHub envsUnlimitedhttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Team: package publishingUnlimitedhttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Team: supportPlatform support; paid consulting with Flox packaging expertshttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Enterprise priceCustom pricinghttps://flox.dev/pricing/
Organizations, automated upgradesFlox for Teams (paid)https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/organizations, https://flox.dev/docs/concepts/floxhub
FloxHub accountFree; required to install, upgrade or resolve since 2026-10-20https://flox.dev/blog/flox-catalog-login-requirement-what-you-need-to-know/
Imageless K8s minimum containerd1.7https://flox.dev/docs/imageless-kubernetes/install/self-managed
Imageless K8s headline claims800 to 0 MB, 50%, 5 to 2 stageshttps://flox.dev/kubernetes/
CUDA wheel download vs build1m 11s vs more than 65 minuteshttps://flox.dev/blog/deploying-hardened-flox-nvidia-cuda-stacks-in-minutes-not-hours/
Full PyTorch inference stack buildMore than two hourshttps://flox.dev/blog/deploying-hardened-flox-nvidia-cuda-stacks-in-minutes-not-hours/
Derived: 10 / 50 / 200 seats per month$200 / $1,000 / $4,000https://flox.dev/pricing/

← Security, login gate and reliability · Competitive positioning →